Board & Executive Staff

Board of Directors

2017 General Assembly Legislation for the Space Flight Authority states the Authority shall be governed by a board of directors consisting of nine members, two of whom shall be the Secretary of Transportation and the Director of the Virginia Department of Aviation or their respective designees.  The remaining seven members shall be appointed by the Governor and shall have experience in at least one of the following fields:  (i) the aerospace industry, (ii) the financial industry, (iii) the marketing industry, (iv) scientific and technological research and development; or (v) higher education.   

Aubrey Layne

Jeff M. Bingham

Director, Department of Aviation
Randy Burdette

Linda Thomas-Glover

Appointed Directors

John R. Broderick
Marke "Hoot" Gibson
Kathryn Thornton
Varun Nikore
Bittle W. Porterfield, III

Executive Staff

CEO and Executive Director
Dale Nash

In 2012, Dale Nash joined Virginia Space, the owner and operator of the Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport, collocated at the NASA Wallops Flight Facility. During his tenure, Dale has overseen the successful completion of Launch Pad 0A for the medium-class liquid fuel Antares rocket, as well as a successful rebuild of Pad 0A after a launch mishap in October 2014; several successful Antares cargo resupply missions to the International Space Station; Minotaur rocket launches off Pad 0B, including a Minotaur V mission to the moon; and completion of a purpose-built 3,000 foot long Unmanned Aircraft System airfield that is going into full operation in May 2017. 

Dale’s background includes 35 years of experience in the aerospace industry. He was CEO of Alaska Aerospace - owner and operator of the Kodiak Launch Complex -  for 5 1/2 years before joining Virginia Space. Prior to that, Dale spent 14 years in Florida in senior management positions, working launch operations and program development on NASA’s Space Shuttle and Orion programs with United Space Alliance and Thiokol (now Orbital ATK). He began his career in Utah working 11 years on DoD ballistic missile systems and solid rocket motors with Hercules and Thiokol. 

Dale holds a Bachelor’s degree in Engineering from the University of Utah, and a Master of Business Administration from the University of Florida. 

Director, Mid-Atlantic Regional Spaceport
Sean Mulligan

Director of Finance and Contracting
Kathy Olson

Director of Business Development
Thomas Shearer